English as a Second Language Department
ESL Teachers

Language Instruction Educational Program (LIEP) means an instruction course in which LEP students are placed for the purpose of attaining English proficiency, while meeting challenging State academic content and student academic achievement standards. A language instruction educational program may make use of both English and a child's native language to enable the child to develop and attain English proficiency.

Students are served by an array of educational professionals through services including but not limited to: Supplemental Computer Programs, Tutors, Sheltered Instruction, Co-Teaching, Pullout ESL, Content-cased ESL, Teacher/Student Coaching, District/Student LEP Plans, Small Groups, Peer Tutoring, ELL related PD for content teachers, Appropriate Scheduling, Targeted INstructional Modifications/Accommodations (LinguaFolio, SIOP, ExC-ELL, relevant data analysis, use of supplemental materials, etc) in collaboration with district ESL staff.

The English Language Development Standard Course of Study (ELD SCS) describes what limited English proficient students should know and be able to do at each level of proficiency along the K-12 continuum. It will assist English as a Second Language teachers in planning lessons and strategies which will target the language learning needs of individual students to ensure that they progress toward full English language proficiency. The SCS will also assist classroom teachers in modifying instruction in the content areas to match the English language proficiency levels of their students.

 

The NC English Language Proficiency Standard Course of Study is the World-Class Instructional Design and Assessment (WIDA) English Language Proficiency Standards [approved by the State Board of Education June 5, 2008]. These standards are K-12.

 

ENGLISH LANGUAGE PROFICIENCY STANDARDS
Standard 1: English language learners communicate for Social and Instructional purposes within the school setting.

Standard 2: English language learners communicate information, ideas and concepts necessary for academic success in the content area of Language Arts.

Standard 3: English language learners communicate information, ideas and concepts necessary for academic success in the content area of Mathematics.

Standard 4: English language learners communicate information, ideas and concepts necessary for academic success in the content area of Science.

Standard 5: English language learners communicate information, ideas and concepts necessary for academic success in the content area of Social Studies.

Contact:
Central Office Staff:
Cathy Waddell
Title III Program Director

cwaddell@randolph.k12.nc.us

(336) 633-5040

Laura Porcelli Luquet
Title III Program Specialist

lporcelli@randolph.k12.nc.us

(336) 633-5092

Roxanne Taylor
Title III Parent Liaison

rtaylor@randolph.k12.nc.us

(336) 633-5097

Debbie Smith
Administrative Assistant

d1smith@randolph.k12.nc.us

(336) 633-5040

Elementary Schools:
Archdale
Dean Daniel
ddaniel@randolph.k12.nc.us
Coleridge
Heather Shimp
hshimp@randolph.k12.nc.us
Farmer
April Murray
amurray@randolph.k12.nc.us
Franklinville
Candy Medlin
cmedlin@randolph.k12.nc.us
Grays Chapel
Heather Shimp
hshimp@randolph.k12.nc.us
Hopewell
Leslie Zimmerman
lzimmerman@randolph.k12.nc.us
John Lawrence
Melissa Egolf
megolf@randolph.k12.nc.us
Level Cross
Candy Medlin
cmedlin@randolph.k12.nc.us
Liberty
Tina Collins
tcollins@randolph.k12.nc.us
New Market
Jackie Lowe
j3lowe@randolph.k12.nc.us
Ramseur
April Murray
amurray@randolph.k12.nc.us
Ramseur
Ben Saunders
bsaunders@randolph.k12.nc.us
Randleman Elementary
Stephanie Ward
sward@randolph.k12.nc.us
Randleman Elementary
Jamie Powell
j1powell@randolph.k12.nc.us
Seagrove
April Murray
amurray@randolph.k12.nc.us
Southmont
Diana Pollard
dpollard@randolph.k12.nc.us
Southmont
Ami Meadows
ameadows@randolph.k12.nc.us
Tabernacle
Irene Robleto
irobleto@randolph.k12.nc.us
Trindale
Leslie Zimmerman
lzimmerman@randolph.k12.nc.us
Trinity
Melissa Egolf
megolf@randolph.k12.nc.us
Middle Schools:
Archdale Trinity
Leslie Zimmerman
lzimmerman@randolph.k12.nc.us
Braxton Craven
Leslie Zimmerman
lzimmerman@randolph.k12.nc.us
Northeastern Randolph (NERMS)
Tina Collins
tcollins@randolph.k12.nc.us
Randleman Middle
Karen Asbill
kasbill@randolph.k12.nc.us
Randleman Middle
Taro Fenberg
tfenberg@randolph.k12.nc.us
Southeast Randolph (SERMS)
Karen Asbill
kasbill@randolph.k12.nc.us
Southwest Randolph
Irene Robleto
irobleto@randolph.k12.nc.us
Uwharrie Ridge Six-Twelve
Tanzy Leonard
t1leonard@randolph.k12.nc.us
High Schools:
Randolph Early College
Ursula Goldston
ugoldston@randolph.k12.nc.us
Eastern Randolph
Cynthia Hardister
chardister@randolph.k12.nc.us
Providence Grove
Cynthia Hardister
chardister@randolph.k12.nc.us
Randleman
Laura Ellen
lellen@randolph.k12.nc.us
Southwest
Ursula Goldston
ugoldston@randolph.k12.nc.us
Trinity
Tanzy Leonard
t1leonard@randolph.k12.nc.us
Wheatmore
Tanzy Leonard
t1leonard@randolph.k12.nc.us
Links

Second Language Resource Sites

ELD Resource Guide

All grade level ESL standards (WIDA Resource Guide)

 

North Carolina ESL Standards and Resources

WIDA Consortium Website for North Carolina ESL standards and resources

 

Everything ESL

Excellent site for teachers of second language students (content & ESL)

 

Bogglesworld

Lots of flashcards available for printing plus ideas on how to use them; other ESL resources included

 

Colorin Colorado

Lots of resources, training videos, booklists, etc., for teachers and parents of ESL students

 

USA Learns

Site for adults wanting to improve their English

 

Starfall

Starfall.com has been a free online resource since 2002, teaching millions of children to read and inspiring a love of learning. 

 

PBS

PBS LearningMedia™ is your destination for direct access to thousands of classroom-ready, curriculum-targeted digital resources.

 

Awesome Stories

Awesome Stories' story-driven, evidence-based teaching and learning platform features over 3400 Awesome Stories-authored story learning guides with over 100,000 primary sources.

 

Adolescent Literacy

Explicit strategy instruction is at the core of good comprehension instruction. "Before" strategies activate students' prior knowledge and set a purpose for reading. "During" strategies help students make connections, monitor their understanding, generate questions, and stay focused. "After" strategies provide students an opportunity to summarize, question, reflect, discuss, and respond to text.

 

LearnNC

LEARN NC, a program of the UNC School of Education, finds the most innovative and successful practices in K-12 education and makes them available to the teachers and students of North Carolina - and the world.

 

NEWSELA

Newsela is an innovative way to build reading comprehension with nonfiction that's always relevant: daily news. It's easy and amazing.

English Learner (EL) Parent Resources

Web page resources for parents / Recursos en el web para padres

 

Colorin Colorado

Lots of resources, training videos, booklists, etc., for teachers and parents of ESL students

Muchos recursos para padres y alumnos aprendiendo el ingles como idioma, como videos de entrenamiento y un lista de libros

 

USA Learns

Site for adults wanting to improve their English

Un sitio para adultos para mejora su ingles como idioma

 

Starfall

Starfall.com has been a free online resource since 2002, teaching millions of children to read and inspiring a love of learning. 

Un sitio gratuito en linea desde 2002, enseñando millones de ninos(as) leer e inspirar un amor por el aprendizaje

 

WIDA English Language Development Standards

Webinars for  Families of ELs
Families are critical stakeholders within the comprehensive system of WIDA standards and assessments.  Families of language learners have the right to know and understand how their child is progressing in his or her English language development. 
By providing families with information about key topics including what it means to be an EL student, the WIDA standards and assessments, and how to interpret student language proficiency scores, parents will be better equipped to engage in meaningful discussions with educators about students' language instruction and progress.  While parents are the primary audience for webinars, educators can also benefit, as this resurce raises awareness about the types of questions parents of ELs may have and offers opportunities to examine local practices in order to enhance communication with families of ELs.
Click here  for Webinars. 

 

Other resources

http://www.ncpublicschools.org/parents/

http://www.readingrockets.org/article/reading-tips-parents-preschoolers

https://www.khanacademy.org/