English as a Second Language Department

ESL Teachers

Welcome!   أهلا بك    ¡Bienvenidos!    स्वागत हे    Bienvenue   Chào mừng     خوش آمدید     Benvenuto   Willkommen

The English as a Second Language (ESL) Program is for English Learners (ELs) whose first language is a language other than English and whose English proficiency is still considered to be limited. In the ESL program, ELs work with a licensed ESL teacher who helps them improve their English skills in the areas of listening, speaking, reading, and writing. Our ESL program is a content-based program in which students learn English language skills through core instructional areas. Teachers use a variety of research-based instructional strategies that help students learn the English language and content simultaneously.

If you have any questions, please contact us for assistance.

Contact Information:

Central Office Staff:

Cathy Waddell

Assistant Superintendent of Curriculum & Instruction

Phone: 336-633-5040

cwaddell@randolph.k12.nc.us

Laura Porcelli Luquet

Title III Program Specialist

Phone: 336-633-5092

lporcelli@randolph.k12.nc.us

Roxanne Taylor

Title III Parent Liaison

Phone: 336-633-5097

rtaylor@randolph.k12.nc.us

ESL Teachers

Karen Asbill
SERMS, NERMS
kasbill@randolph.k12.nc.us
Tina Collins
Liberty
tcollins@randolph.k12.nc.us
Dean Daniel
Archdale
ddean@randolph.k12.nc.us
Melissa Egolf
TES, Trindale, Archdale, Hopewell
megolf@randolph.k12.nc.us
Taro Fenberg
RMS
tfenberg@randolph.k12.nc.us
Ursula Goldston
SWRHS, RECHS, Farmer
ugoldston@randolph.k12.nc.us
Oliver Ham
RHS
oham@randolph.k12.nc.us
Cynthia Hardister
ERHS
chardister@randolph.k12.nc.us
Tanzy Leonard
THS, WHS, PGHS
t1leonard@randolph.k12.nc.us
Laura LeRoy
NMES, UR
lleroy@randolph.k12.nc.us
Candy Medlin
Franklinville, Level Cross
cmedlin@randolph.k12.nc.us
Caroline Nobles
RES, Tabernacle, VAR
cnobles@randolph.k12.nc.us
Dianna Pollard
Southmont
dpollard@randolph.k12.nc.us
Irene Parra
SWRMS, Seagrove
iparra@randolph.k12.nc.us
Ben Saunders
Ramseur
bsaunders@randolph.k12.nc.us
Heather Shimp
Grays Chapel, Coleridge
hshimp@randolph.k12.nc.us
Dawn Stutts
Southmont
dstutts@randolph.k12.nc.us
Stepanie Ward
RES
sward@randolph.k12.nc.us

Leslie Zimmerman

 

TMS, WMS, J. Lawrence
lzimmerman@randolph.k12.nc.us

Resources

The following links are excellent ESL resources for parents, teachers, and students. Each link opens in a new window.

 

WIDA English Language Development Standards Framework, 2020 Edition Kindergarten-Grade 12.

ALL ESL

Excellent site for teachers of second language students (content & ESL)

Bogglesworld

Lots of flashcards available for printing plus ideas on how to use them; other ESL resources included

Colorin Colorado

Lots of resources, training videos, book lists, etc., for teachers and parents of ESL students

USA Learns

Site for adults wanting to improve their English

Starfall

Starfall.com has been a free online resource since 2002, teaching millions of children to read and inspiring a love of learning. 

PBS

PBS LearningMedia™ is your destination for direct access to thousands of classroom-ready, curriculum-targeted digital resources.

Awesome Stories

Awesome Stories' story-driven, evidence-based teaching, and learning platform. Features over 3400 Awesome Stories-authored story learning guides with over 100,000 primary sources.

Adolescent Literacy

Explicit strategy instruction is at the core of good comprehension instruction. "Before" strategies activate students' prior knowledge and set a purpose for reading. "During" strategies help students make connections, monitor their understanding, generate questions, and stay focused. "After" strategies provide students an opportunity to summarize, question, reflect, discuss, and respond to a text.

Duolingo

Learn a language. A language-learning platform for newcomers or others interested in learning a language

NEWSELA

Newsela is an innovative way to build reading comprehension with nonfiction that's always relevant: daily news. It's easy and amazing.

Unite for Literacy

 Provides free digital access to picture books, narrated in many languages.

English Learner (EL) Parent Resources

Web page resources for parents / Recursos en el web para padres

 

Colorin Colorado

Lots of resources, training videos, book lists, etc., for teachers and parents of ESL students

Muchos recursos para padres y alumnos aprendiendo el ingles como idioma, como videos de entrenamiento y un lista de libros

 

USA Learns

Site for adults wanting to improve their English

Un sitio para adultos para mejora su ingles como idioma

 

Starfall

Starfall.com has been a free online resource since 2002, teaching millions of children to read and inspiring a love of learning. 

Un sitio gratuito en linea desde 2002, enseñando millones de ninos(as) leer e inspirar un amor por el aprendizaje.


Webinars for  Families of ELs
Families are critical stakeholders within the comprehensive system of WIDA standards and assessments.  Families of language learners have the right to know and understand how their child is progressing in his or her English language development. 
By providing families with information about key topics including what it means to be an EL student, the WIDA standards and assessments, and how to interpret student language proficiency scores, parents will be better equipped to engage in meaningful discussions with educators about students' language instruction and progress.  While parents are the primary audience for webinars, educators can also benefit, as this resource raises awareness about the types of questions parents of ELs may have and offers opportunities to examine local practices in order to enhance communication with families of ELs.
Click here for Webinars. 

 

Other resources

http://www.ncpublicschools.org/parents/

http://www.readingrockets.org/article/reading-tips-parents-preschoolers

https://www.khanacademy.org/