Facebook Twitter Twitter RSS
Home Calendars Parents & Students Community Staff

« Back to news list
RECHS Students Selected for RCC's Leadership Academy

Fifteen students have been chosen for Randolph Community College’s Fountain-Luria Student Leadership Academy based on a competitive process that considered leadership experience, leadership potential, and a letter of reference from a faculty member. The group includes eight traditional RCC students and seven Randolph Early College High School students.

The participants completed their first session on Saturday, September 19, which included team-building exercises led by Jeremy Jackson, associate director of camp operations at Camp Caraway, and his wife, Michelle; and a presentation by RCC President Robert S. Shackleford on the topic “Portraits of  Leadership.” A second session scheduled for October 22 will include a presentation on group dynamics by Dr. Joanne Buck, department chair for English and Humanities at Guilford Technical Community College; and a session on Servant Leadership by Dr. J.W. Kelley, RCC vice president for student services.

In upcoming sessions, the students will learn about personality types and leadership styles; communication across generations; situational leadership; 360 degree leadership; and leadership and ethical dilemmas. Students will also participate in a student leadership project. A graduation ceremony will be held in March, at which the students will present the outcome of their projects.

This is the ninth year for RCC’s Student Leadership Academy, which is named after local leaders Dr. Stuart Fountain and Dr. Alan Luria, who have supported the project since its inception in 2008.

The student members of the 2015-2016 Fountain-Luria Student Leadership Academy, their majors, and hometowns are as follows:

David Arellano, RECHS junior, Associate in Arts (College Transfer), Asheboro
Lily Burgess, Associate in Arts (College Transfer), Climax
Christopher Clark, Associate in Arts (College Transfer), Asheboro
Nicholas Everage, RECHS senior, Associate in Arts (College Transfer), Staley
Carlos Mancilla-Garcia, Criminal Justice Technology, Asheboro
Jahmina Ollison, RECHS junior, Associate in Arts (College Transfer), Asheboro
Jake Parrish, Associate in Arts (College Transfer), Asheboro
Seth Parrish, RECHS senior, Associate in Arts (College Transfer), Asheboro
Sean Ponder, RECHS senior, Associate in Arts (College Transfer), Franklinville
Michael Ratliff, Computer Information Technology/Networking Technology, Asheboro
Rubi Robles, Associate in Arts (College Transfer), Asheboro
Cinthia Salinas-Pavon, Associate in Arts (College Transfer), Asheboro
Allison Storm, RECHS junior, Associate in Arts (College Transfer), Sophia
Polly Van Ausdall, Associate in Arts (College Transfer), Archdale
Teresa Zheng, RECHS junior, Associate in Arts (College Transfer), Randleman




School Supplies
Back to Top
Footer Address

The Randolph County School System does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, disability, or age in its programs and activities and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. The following people have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies: Marty Trotter, Title IX Coordinator, and Edwina Ashworth, Section 504 Coordinator, 2222-C South Fayetteville St. Asheboro, NC 27205 Phone: 318-6100.

 The Randolph County School System is committed to ensuring that all web users can access its web content. If you have difficulty accessing information on our website due to a disability, please contact us at tmoody@randolph.k12.nc.us and provide the URL (web address) of the material you tried to access, the problem you experienced, and your contact information.